South Australia will throw open its border to travellers from New Zealand clarifying previous confusion over the trans-Tasman travel bubble.

The move come following news that five New Zealanders unexpectedly arrived in South Australia in spite of the state not being included initially in the travel bubble.

Only New South Wales and the Northern Territory had officially opted into the travel bubble with New Zealand, however, travellers from across the ditch have since arrived in Tasmania, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia.

South Australia will now allow those travelling from New Zealand into the state without the need for a mandatory 14-day quarantine period.

Police Commissioner Grant Stevens confirmed today that the 12 New Zealand travellers currently quarantining in SA will now be permitted to leave.

“These people have been disadvantaged for a relatively short amount of time while we ensure the safety of South Australians,” Commissioner Stevens said of the New Zealand travellers in quarantine.

Despite three states now officially opting into the trans-Tasman travel bubble, only those coming from New Zealand will be permitted to travel without quarantine. Aussies are not yet permitted to holiday in New Zealand.


Catch up on the top 5 things you must know in Adelaide today:

Want more? Listen to one of our favourite moments from Erin Phillips & Soda – Tune in weekdays from 6AM on Mix102.3!